SHOESTODAY ~ Day 18

IMG_2175

Nike Mayfly
Nike Factory, Sydney 2005

The lightest shoes ever at 135g. Well, close but maybe not. What I loved about the Mayfly was the whole idea of a disposable lightweight performance shoe that would last the distance of the marathon and fall apart at the finish line. Certainly makes for great drama.

The Nike Mayfly concept was based on the life cycle of the mayfly which by nature is an insect that lives, breeds and dies in one day. A warning card supplied with the shoe cautions the runner not to wear the shoes for longer than 100km to emphasise the intended lifespan of the Nike Mayfly.

ESPN did a story back in 04 about the Mayfly here.

IMG_2179

IMG_2180

IMG_2182

IMG_2183

IMG_2184

IMG_2185

ShoesToday? Why?
I have too many shoes. Because of this I have decided to stop buying sneakers. The last purchase was black ’staple’ shoes back in April. In ode of being more responsible with my play money, this documentary will force me to actually wear the collection I have accidentally amassed. I have always claimed to only buy to wear, and NOT to collect and keep box-fresh. For as long as I can keep going, I will wear a different pair daily and post it here on our blog. New day, new pair of shoes. I think 2 months is achievable. The challenge started on July 3.

One response to “SHOESTODAY ~ Day 18

  1. NDeez. You know what might be intrusive but equally instructive.
    Putting the $$$ you paid for it. Noting sale items if possible….

    and doing so for previous updates

Leave a Reply

